Livestream: Tchaikovsky’s Fifth

Livestream: Tchaikovsky’s Fifth

Thursday 14 November 19:30


After gripping performances of Tchaikovsky’s neurotic Fourth and Sixth symphonies in the last two seasons, Edward Gardner turns to the work that feels like a breath of fresh air in between them. 

Watch the concert live on this page. The transmission starts at 19.25 on Thursday 14 November

In the late 1880s, Tchaikovsky felt himself suddenly free from the catastrophes that were haunting his private life and carving a tragic path through his career. In the new symphony taking shape on the composer’s desk, the music felt this ease in suffering too. Light floods the textures of the exquisite Fifth Symphony while hopeful melodies invade its dark corners.

Before it, we are treated to a concerto performance from the winner of the Norwegian Soloist’s Prize. The concert opens with a selection of Grieg’s iconic piano miniatures the Lyric Pieces, but not as you’ve heard them before. No piano, but tantalizing new orchestral arrangements by the Norwegian composer Ørjan Matre.

Generously supported by Stiftelsen Kristian Gerhard Jebsen

Ørjan Matre
‘’…yet from those flames no light’’, Concerto for Harp & Orchestra
Different Stories