Livestream: Mahler Nine

Livestream: Mahler Nine

Live from Grieghallen

Friday 31 January 2020 at 19.25 CET

Truls Mørk performs the Norwegian premiere of a new Cello Concerto by Nordic Music Prize nominee and master orchestrator Victoria Borisova-Ollas.

After that work co-commissioned by the Bergen Philharmonic Orchestra, Jukka Pekka Saraste takes the ensemble through one of the most profound symphonies of all time.

Watch the concert live on this page. The transmission starts at 19.25 on Friday 31 January.

In Mahler’s last completed symphony, first performed in 1912, the composer descended deeper than ever before into the depths of hell and despair.

Through some of the most original and fantastical orchestral writing of the time, Mahler prophesized the musical developments of the twentieth century and created a compelling journey from a premonition of mortality through demented dances and to ultimate silence. A rare chance to hear Mahler’s prophetic and fantastic Symphony No. 9.

Borisova-Ollas’ cello concerto is co-commissioned with Sveriges Radios Symfoniorkester, Göteborgs Symfoniker and Royal Liverpool Philharmonic.

Gustav Mahler
Symfoni No. 1
Symfoni No. 4
Lieder eines fahrenden Gesellen